The Girl Scout in all of us….and why we should stop.

Why are you a Christian?

It’s a good question to ask.

I always felt nervous getting involved in talking to a stranger or an acquaintance about my faith. There is this tension there that you are trying to be this guy  

and end up looking like this guy .

We have all been pushed back and kept our heads down since people like this  

and people like them 

started making it dangerous to even mention Jesus in public.

How do you get to have a deep one on one conversation with someone and show them how God has genuinely made your life?

Talk to another Christian.

But that doesn’t count right? Wrong.

Today when I was sitting on a bench in town square enjoying the sun and people watching I noticed a guy playing his guitar just feet away. He was keeping to himself and practicing worship songs. It was refreshing that he was not yelling at the top of his lungs, but just being un-intrusive and present about his faith. Enjoying His guitar on a spring day. In fact you could really distinguish what music he was playing. I have been interested in getting out and talking to more strangers about God. So after a few minutes I realized the rejection rate of talking about Jesus with this guy was going to be pretty safe. I know that ultimately the goal is to reach out to non-believers and not spend my life preaching to a choir, but this isn’t sales. I’m not out here to get conversions and numbers. I was out and about interested in sharing my faith. Sharing….not Selling.

I remembered how awesome it is to sometimes hear the dramatic testimony of someone who really needed Christ, found him, and changed. So I decided to ask him “Why are you a Christian?”

My favorite part was that I hadn’t explained that I was a christian and so the guy was happy to share an honest answer with someone who may be seeking God. So I listened to him and Asked him more deeply why he was a Christian as opposed to Buddhist or Muslim. And this magic happens. A light comes on and the ice breaks. The real story comes out.

I was struck in that moment that I was essentially committing reverse evangelism.

Reverse Evangelism is what I will call it. Instead of going out into the world looking for non-believers and trying to influence them I decided to go find believers and give them a chance to share their story and embolden them to discuss their faith.

After I hurled a few tough questions at them that really shake their belief it’s amazing to see them come alive and not back down.

After the fact I begin to share my side and it’s almost like they were caught on camera. They realize I in fact am a believer too and they are surprised. The unexpected thing is that they are excited. 

When we get up a discussion about our faith it ends up spreading around to table around us and it can be just as effective giving people a chance to eavesdrop on the discussion…. which they do.

The truth is that Evangelism often feels like sales. I hate it. It’s a lot like selling coupon books to your friends and neighborhood so that you can earn points for that catalog of toys and gadgets that comes with it.

It’s much simpler than that. We are supposed to simply share our faith not sell it.

Share.

Instead of treating your faith like a box of fundraising girl scout cookies….. be they guy with the open box of girl scout cookies.

People tend to avoid girl scouts at the grocery store because you feel like a mark. You know that there is no value except your wallet. And that their sweet demeanor is just greasing the wheels. un-sincere. And if you don’t buy…. judgement. After all if you don’t buy the cookies you are pretty much signing a petition to reverse women’s suffrage and take away their right to vote.

Being the guy with the open box of girl scout cookies doesn’t need to force anything on anyone… in fact people try and cozy up fast.

The idea is simply. Quit trying to convince people and instead be confident.

Confidence comes from knowledge and experience. A certainty that what Christ is… is true. That no one needs be convinced.

It’s the feeling that makes you certain that you aren’t better than anyone, but you are certainly better off.

Like a guy with an umbrella next to a guy who doesn’t. You aren’t better….no way. You are however better off, and that puts you in a position to serve….instead of putting you in a position to persuade. Not Cocky. But Certain. Put away the pride, rub on the humility.

It takes me back to the point. By sharing my faith with another christian, redefining evangelism, and reversing it I accomplished what I had on my heart. To minister. And I had answers the other guy needed answers to, He had answers I need answers to. We shared our experience and found a way to stop being girl scouts. Throw away the badges and just stuff our face with some amazing cookies.

 

Leave a comment